Race Officers


Clubs and Sailing Centers dedicated to running Match Racing events in North America

(in sort of a geographic order)                                                                       January 24, 2013


NOTE : there are undoubtedly more; if you know of any, please pass along their name and contact information to Dave Perry at: davperry@optonline.net. Also let Dave know your club/center’s preferred contact person, any corrections needed to this list, and if you wish to be removed from this list.


US Sailing Center Sheboygan (Sheboygan, WI)  (Sonar & Elliott 6m)

            Kathy Lindgren  (kathy.lindgren@wi.rr.com)

            Rich Reichelsdorfer  (Rich@windway.com)

            Jason Bemis (jason.bemis@gmail.com)


Chicago Match Race Center (Chicago, Illinois)  (Tom 28 and Elliott 6m)

            Tod Reynolds (tod@chicagomatchrace.com)

Jennifer Wilson  (jwilson@DRWHoldings.com)

            Taylor Canfield (taylorisv@gmail.com)


Bayview Yacht Club (Detroit, MI)  (Ultimate 20)

            Chris Van Tol  (cvantol@bbdetroit.com)

            Debi Schoenherr  (debi-s@comcast.net)

            Kevin Schrage (kpschrage@gmail.com)


Port Huron (Lake Huron, Canada)   (J/22?)

            Chris Shaffer  (christopher.shaffer@yahoo.com)


Royal Canadian Yacht Club (Toronto, Canada)   (Sonar)

            Oskar Johansson (oskarj@hotmail.com)

            David Jarvis (davidrjarvis@hotmail.com)


Royal Nova Scotia Yacht Squadron (Halifax, Canada)  (J/22)

            Peter Wickwire (pwickwire@hotmail.com)


Royal Vancouver Yacht Club (Vancouver, Canada)

            Rick Hatch (rfh_yachting@shaw.ca)


Pacific Northwest (Seattle, WA)

            Beck Henderer-Pena (theotherbeck@gmail.com)


Rochester Yacht Club (Rochester, NY)  (Sonar)

            Doc Sullivan (rsulliv1@rochester.rr.com)

Skip Shumway  (idealsonar@aol.com)

            Eric Voss (e.voss@hotmail.com)


New York Yacht Club (Newport, RI)   (Sonar)

Brad Dellenbaugh  (dellenbaugh@nyyc.org)

            Chafee Emory  (ChafeeEmory@AOL.com)


Sail Newport (Newport, RI)   (J/22)

            Brad Read  (brad.read@sailnewport.org)

            Kim Hapgood  (kim.hapgood@sailnewport.org)



Oakcliff Sailing (Oyster Bay, NY)  (Swedish Match 40 & Shields)

            Dawn Riley (driley@dawnriley.com)

Dave Perry (davperry@optonline.net)

Bill Simon (BSimon@Oakcliffsailing.org)


Seawanhaka Yacht Club (Oyster Bay, NY)   (Sonar)

            Bruce Cook  (bacook@optonline.net)

            Eric Johnson (eejohnso@optonline.net)


Manhasset Bay Yacht Club (Port Washington, NY)   (Colgate 26, Ideal 18)

            Sue Miller  (suemiller555@optonline.net)


Annapolis Match Race Center (Annapolis, MD) (J/80 & J/22)

            Jeff Borland  (jborland@systematicsolutns.com)

            Jeff Riedle (info@AnnapolisMatchRace.org)


Royal Bermuda Yacht Club (Bermuda)  (IOD)

            Peter Shrubb (pshrubb@ibl.bm)

            Audrey Pope (sailingoffice@rbyc.bm)


Indian River Yacht Club (Cocoa, FL)   (Catalina 22)

            Jerry Butz  (jerry@boatersexchange.com)               


St. Petersburg Yacht Club (St. Petersburg, FL)   (Sonar)

            Pat Seidenspinner  (pseidens@tampabay.rr.com)

            Shawn Macking (waterfront-director@spyc.org)


Lake Baldwin Community Sailing / Rollins College  (Geary 18)

            Larry Landrigan  (matchracingorlando@hotmail.com)


St. Thomas Yacht Club (St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands)   (IC 24)

            Bill Canfield  (visailing@gmail.com)

            Henry Menin  (hl.menin@gmail.com)


Southern Yacht Club (New Orleans, LA)   (J/22 & Flying Scots)

John Alden Meade  (johnaldenmeade@hotmail.com)

Katy Pilley-Lovell (katypl@aol.com)


Ft Worth Boat Club (Fort Worth, TX)   (J/22)

            Karen Smith  (tootallsmith@msn.com)


San Diego Yacht Club (San Diego, CA)   (J/22)

            Dan Aeling (aeling@ix.netcom.com)


Balboa Yacht Club (Corona Del Mar, CA)   (Governor’s Cup 21)

            Don Becker (ayedoc@att.net)

            Becky Lenhart (sailing@balboayachtclub.com)


Long Beach Yacht Club (Long Beach, CA)   (Catalina 38)

            Mike Van Dyke  (mike.van.dyke@verizon.net)

            Kirk Brown  (stmci@ix.netcom.com)

            David Stotler (dstotler@charter.net)


King Harbor Yacht Club (Redondo Beach, CA)   (Martin 242)

            Brian Angel  (brianangelracing@gmail.com)


San Francisco Bay area   (J/22)

            Liz Baylis  (LizBaylis@gmail.com)

            Kristen & Peter Lane  (kristenlane@ix.netcom.com)

            Russ Silvestri  (rsilvestri@skiritai.com)

            Bruce Stone (bruce@brucestone.com)

            Anne McCormack (race@sfyc.org)

            Robbie Dean (rdean@stfyc.com)

            Bartz Schneider (EM4BARTZ@aol.com)



Additional names of friends of match racing…


CYA – Paddy Boyd, Andrew Alberti

ICSA – Mitch Brindley, John Vandemoer, Alice Manard Leonard

US SAILING – Chris Petracco, Debi Schoenherr, Steve Wrigley, Lee Parks

USVI – Bill Canfield

WIMRA – Liz Baylis


Cliff Black – US Match Race Committee member

Debbie Capozzi – US Match Race Committee member

Bruce Cook – Umpire Support

Dobbs Davis – Media Support

Susan Epstein – US Event Grading Coordinator

Bill Gladstone – NorthU

Greg Kiely - US Match Race Championship Committee, Chair

Suzy Leech – US Women’s Match Race Championship Committee, Chair

Tom Rinda – Umpire Support

Ted Weisberg - MRA